• About us

    The institute was renamed as Mental Hospital, Agra in 1925. It was being managed …

    read more
  • Departments

    Institute of Mental Health and Hospital, Agra is a registered body under the Society Registration Act.

    read more
  • Academics

    To provide professional and Para professional training in the field of psychiatry, clinical psychology etc

    read more
  • Research Activities

    The institute is actively engaged in research activities to identify the root cause and remedial measures of mental illness.

    read more
  • Special Programs

    The institute provides training to the students of Allopathic, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Nursing, Psychology and social work deputed from different institutions of U.P and other states.

    read more


Institute of Mental Health and Hospital, Agra is a registered autonomous body under the Society Registration Act. The controlling department is Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of U.P.. Director of the institute is the Chief Executive Officer. Additional Director, Medical Superintendent and Finance Officer assist in his day to day functioning. Besides this, the officers are given additional charge of different units to assist the Director. The Commissioner, Agra Division is the chairman of Managing Committee and Principal Secretary to the State of U.P. Health and Family Welfare is vice chairman. Various regular and adhoc Sub-committees give input to management committee. The management committee and sub committee meet regularly to discuss and resolve the developmental plans and various administrative and policy matters.

Management Committee

1. Commissioner,
Agra Division, Agra
2. Principal Secretary to the State Govt.,
Health and Family Welfare, U.P.
3. District Magistrate, Agra Member
4. Senior Superintendent of Police, Agra Member
5. Principal/Vice Chancellor,
K.G. Medical University, Lucknow

6. Director, Institute of Mental Health and Hospital, Agra

Member Secretary
7. Director,
Medical Care, U.P. Health Services, Lucknow

8. Additional Director

Medical, Health and Family Welfare,
Agra Division, Agra

9. Dr. Rati Homi Khambata

Rtd. Associate Professor,

M.L.B. Medical College, Jhansi

Non Official
10. Dr. Anil Kumar Agrawal

Rtd., HOD, Department of Psychiatry,

K.G.M.U, Lucknow

Non Official

Sub Committees:

  1. Works Sub Committee.
  2. Selection Sub Committee.
  3. Purchase Sub Committee.
  4. Finance Sub Committee.
  5. Rehabilitation Sub Committee.